80’s New Years & a JWU Bash

Sorry for the blast into the past blog posts but I was too lazy to keep up with them during my vacation so there you go. During my travels back to the mainland two parties really stood out. One incorporated my somewhat obsessions with the 80’s while the other incorporated my somewhat obsession with my friends from school.

Not sure what it is about the 80’s but the music, the clothes, the TV shows, all winners. I definitely would have fit in with that crowd rocking out to Guns N’ Roses, Scorpions, Foreigner, and Poison. All the while wearing bright neon colors that keep joggers safe from being hit by cars when they’re out running at night. It’s true, that’s why neon was invented. I’m not sure if that’s true.
PC310226

The party was at a bar in NYC when at the time the temperature was in the low 20’s and the winds were in the high 40’s (or so it felt like). For the Hawaii folks who don’t know its an incredible feeling and I highly recommend it to all of you *evil grin*. The bar was hooked up 80’s style with music, decorations, and constant 80’s movies playing all over the walls (that last part may have been a figment of my imagination, I can’t be completely sure). 

PC310291   PC310261

In the interest of remaining ridiculous, I asked the 80’s group to pose in one of my favorite poses, the “Lion Face.” If you have no clue what I’m talking about please check out the quick clip below where Matt Damon and Ben Affleck prepare for a movie scene by practicing both extremes, “Lemon Face,” and my favorite, “Lion Face.”

The move is a way to clear your face of all expressions so that the actor is ready for the scene. For those of you doubting my “industry knowledge” you can recive your confirmation from my 0:02 shot from my scene as an extra in last week’s episode of Lost.

OK 80’s party, everyone at once now, LION FACE!

PC310244

About my college buddies… well it’s complicated. I don’t really like them but they have too much dirt on me for me to tell them that in person. Just kidding! There is nothing like getting back together with the people you laughed, cried, and lets face it… drank with for those four amazing years. It was a great turnout with over a dozen folks coming in from Boston, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Maryland.

JWU Clan

It really is funny how the years go by and the details change a bit but the people always stay the same. We all let loose, forgot about life for a while, and pretended we were back in college with some classic games of cards, baseball, and of course the feared “drink card.” Some people danced when they probably shouldn’t have, some wished they weren’t smokers because they had to go outside and freeze for 3-5 minutes, and others just focused on breathing from there absurd allergies to Kip’s cat. Yes, that included me.

Both times were super fun and it was hard knowing I wouldn’t be able to repeat them for a while. What was reassuring was knowing that all those amazing people are always there when we come home. Cheers everyone!

3 Responses to “80’s New Years & a JWU Bash”

  1. are you trying to make me cry?

  2. terence brown Says:

    Well i am very upset that you left journey out of that list of bands. Your not a real 80’s fan. SORRY!

  3. 80s rocked!!!! And you and Kimmy rocked the 80s look! 🙂

Leave a Reply

